联系我们 | 重庆大学 | 加入收藏


Chongqing University, a prestigious national university affiliated with the Chinese Ministry of Education, is one of the universities included in the two top education projects named 211 and 985 and has entered the list of a national project for the “Construction of world class universities(Subclass A)” proposed and supported by the central government of China.

The faculty of arts was established in 1929 when Chongqing University was initially set up as a comprehensive university. Prominent scholars, writers, and famous poets such as Xiang Chu, Xiang Zonglu, Shang Chengzuo, Wu Mi, Yang Mingzhao, Ai Wu, Wu Fangji and others had been teaching or received education at the faculty. The faulty suspended its operation following a plan of integration and convergence of national universities in the 1950s.

In 1998, the university established the Faculty of Liberal Arts, re-opening the major of Chinese language and literature, and opening the major of broadcasting journalism. In 1999, the Department of Broadcasting and Television was established within the faculty, and began to recruit new undergraduates majoring in broadcasting journalism. The faculty began to grant Master of Arts in Journalism, Master of Arts in Communication, and Master of Arts in Broadcasting Arts starting in 2004. In 2006, journalism studies within the faculty became a key discipline supported by Chongqing municipal government.

In 2007, the School of Literature and Journalism was set up on the basis of the Faculty of Liberal Arts with Ma Shengrong, former Deputy Executive Editor-in-Chief of Xinhua News Agency, as its Dean. The school also co-established the Institute of Public Opinion (an information site of the Chinese Department of Publicity)with the publicity department of Chongqing University. From 2010, the school began to award Master of Journalism and Communication (professional degree). In 2011, the school co-established the Institute of Journalism and Regional Development with Renmin University of China. In 2012, the Department of Chinese Language and Literature was excluded from the school. As a consequence, the school changed its name into School of Journalism and Communication, and appointed Professor Dong Tiance and Ma Shengrong as the Dean and the Honorary Dean of the school respectively.

In 2013, the school began to award doctoral degrees in media law with the support of School of Law at Chongqing University. In 2018, the school began to award doctoral degrees in social governance and public communication with the support of School of Public Governance at Chongqing University.

Today, the school offers two majors at undergraduate level (Journalism Studies and Broadcasting Studies), and is fully authorized to award MA degrees (research and professional degrees) to master students. It is also authorized to award PhD in Media Law, and PhD in Social Governance and Public Communication. In 2015, the school became an authorized concerned party for nominating candidates for the Chinese National News Awards.

In 2015, the major of journalism was selected as the Unique Major in Chongqing, and successfully secured funding from the Chinese Ministry of Education and the Chinese Ministry of Finance to cultivate “distinguishing journalists”. In 2017, the major of journalism and communication became the best in Chongqing. The Cluster of Journalism, Communication and Film Arts was selected as the Unique Teaching Cluster in Chongqing. The Institute of Journalism and Regional Development became a research hub at the university level. In 2018, the School of Journalism and Communication became Chongqing’s Base for the Popularization of Humanities and Social Sciences (Fourth Round), and the “Virtual Simulation Experiment and Convergent Report of Natural Disaster Events” became a Municipal-Level Teaching Program for Virtual Simulation Experiment. In February 2019, it became a National-Level Teaching Program for Virtual Simulation Experiment.

The faculty members include 34 academic staffs. Therein, 12 staffs are at the rank of full professor(senior research fellows), 8 staffs are at the rank of associate professor. There is 1 Distinguishing Scholar supported by the National Ten Thousand Talent Program. There are 8 doctoral supervisors and 24 graduate supervisors. Two staffs were entitled “Distinguished Scholar in New Epoch” awarded by the Chinese Ministry of Education. One was entitled the “Leading Figure of National Press Industries” by the Chinese Department of News and Publications. One staff is the “leading scholar of Chongqing”. Three staffs serve as the president or vice presidents of national associations in the research area of journalism and communication studies. One staff is the reviewer for the National News Awards and Changjiang-Taofen News Awards. There are three faculty members who respectively serve as the editorial advisors for China Journalism and Communication Yearbook, Journalism and Communication Archives of RUC’s Information Center for Social Sciences, and Journal of International Communication.

Over the past five years, the faculty members of the school have secured research funding for over 80 projects which include one Significant Research Project granted by Chinese Ministry of Education, one Important Research Project granted by National Social Science Fund. Fifteen of them are General Project, Early Career School Project, West Provinces Project, or Post-Funded Project granted by National Social Science Fund. There are 30 projects supported by Ministry of Education, State Bureau of Letters and Calls, Chinese Department of Publication and Broadcasting, or Chongqing municipal government. There are 20 projects supported by commercial parties, and 10 projects are supported by Chongqing Department of Education. In 2018, academic staffs of the school won 1 second-prize and 2 third-prize of Chongqing Social Science Awards.

The school possesses advanced facilities, labs and studios, which were exemplified by one laboratory complex and six media labs with a total property value of 7 millions Chinese RMB. These include the Lab of Media Convergence, TV studio, editing studio, camera studio, photographic studio, sound lab, and the Media and Public Opinion Lab. The area of laboratory facilities is 700 square metres. The School co-established platforms of internship with mainstream media organisations such as Xinhua News Agency (Chongqing), Chongqing Broadcasting Group, Chongqing Daily Group, Hualong Online, and Chongqing Publishing House.

The school has a few international partners. In 2009, the School began to offer a “2+2” undergraduate programme with Wilfrid Laurier University. In 2011, the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications signed Memorandum with the school in terms of a “3+1+1 bachelor and master” programme. The school also operates exchange programmes with Mingchuan University in Taiwan, Swinburne University of Technology, and California State University, Fullerton.

In 2017, the school launched an articulated Master programme (Master of Internet Communication) with School of Media, Creativity Arts and Social Inquiry at Curtin University, in an effort to cultivating internationalized master students.

(Updated on 6 March 2019)